Posted by: Hope | August 14, 2009

A New Beginning

I’ve been living in my Adrian dorm now for almost one week! I’ve been so busy with marching band practice that I haven’t had time to sit and have time to think and reflect on anything. No me time =’s one grumpy Hope! But I’m good now. We got out of practice early and I had time to just relax, and hang out with some new friends. Good times, I must admit. I think this is going to be one of the best times of my life and I cant wait to see what comes along. I feel so cheesy saying things like this, but I love it here.

I’ve had a few irritations here and there, but I do rather enjoy this place. I am beginning to feel like I’m at home now. Slowly, but surely. I still haven’t quit smoking even though I told myself Sunday would be my last time. Yeah…I bought a new pack last night. Smack me, it’s okay…I need it. I’m also really kind of proud of myself. I’m keeping up really well, and showing that I am just as talented as the seniors! I love it. To think that I am actually a good player…I never thought I was before. I’m excited to start jazz band, have solo’s for marching band at some home games, etc. etc. I cant wait!

I’ve already started to make some good friends. But the ones that I do think are cool happen to be seniors 😦 That is fairly depressing, considering they will be gone next year. But that’s ok. I’ll live. I know I’ll probably miss them, but hopefully our friendship will grow to a strong enough bond that we can keep continue to keep in touch over the years.

So all I can say is: I love it here and I wouldn’t trade it for the world.

Responses

  1. The coolest seniors sometimes stick around awhile extra, as i know from personal experience a 4 year degree can take much longer if you really try.

  2. btw I too started out college as an atheist. Don’t carve much in a stone, it takes too long to rub the letters out.

  3. btw, thanks for turning me on to Minchin, he is a musical and comedic genius, I will pray for him to,as there is something missing. [God]

  4. Will! Thanks for keeping in touch! It’s great hearing from you buddy.

    I’m an atheist, get over it! 🙂 Kidding. But really, I am. I’m pretty sure it is set in stone. Minchin is indeed a musical genius. I truly appreciate his work. What is your favorite song? Have you listened to any of his poems, either? Storm is my favorite one of those by him.

  5. Glad you are enjoying your college experience so far, Hope!

  6. Good to see you’re doing well and enjoying college.

    And you picked a school where you can go to chapel every week 🙂

  7. Now I hate to burst your bubble, but you’re aware thats not why I came here, right?? 🙂 Good to hear from you again, Brad. It’s been some time since we’ve chatted. I hope all is well with you.

  8. great to hear this. the friends i made in college are still my friends today. good times.


Leave a Reply

Categories

