Posted by: Hope | March 12, 2009

I am not a liar

I’ve lost quite a few friends lately and I’ve come close to losing more than I’d like as well. Most of it boils down to my smoking…I say I’m going to quit and don’t and they get mad and defriend me. Should they be there to support me? Of course, I think they should. However…that’s not the only thing I’ve been accused of.

Two of my friends called me a lying, untrustworthy friend. Wow! That hit home with me. I never thought I was like that, in fact I know I’m not. What makes them think that? I absolutely have no idea. But it really messes with my head.

If you get to know me you’ll learn that the one thing I refuse to deal with is lying. I hate liars, it’s like my biggest pet peeve. If you lie to me, it’s likely I will not be your friend. This even goes down the line of someone who exaggerates or something like that. I absolutely hate it when people stretch the truth. So for me to sit there and hear someone say that I’m a lying, untrustworthy friend…goodness, it makes me want to cry.

I’m not sure where they come up with the lying concept from me. One of the friends I lost due to being “untrustworthy” is well, a jerk..and is just mad at me for telling people her mistakes. The other? I have absolutely NO idea where they came up with it.

I am not a liar dammit. I’m not.

Responses

  1. no you are an addict. your addiction lies. you will get it.

  2. Maybe you should smoke. somebody has to pay the taxes. Tobacco companies need money. I mean you get sick and die, have bad breath and get wrinkly skin, but look at the bright side.

  3. You say you are going to quit and you don’t.

    What do liars do? They say things that are not true.

    If you don’t want to be called a liar, then don’t lie about quitting smoking. Seems like an open and shut case to me.

  4. Okay, the smoking isn’t what I was called a liar for…that was just a bonus to my problems of almost losing a friend. But, I have quit, so far. It’s only been three days, but that’s three days…ya know?

  5. 3 days! all nicotine is out of your system, the physical addiction is over, only the mental remains. one day at a time Good on ya!

  6. I’m a liar.

    I take Jesus at His word.

    (plus when I’m really honest about it…I can see it in myself)

  7. I really dont lie. Why would I lie, if I hate liars? Doesn’t make much sense to me…

  8. everyday you dont smoke – you are true to your confession.

  9. Well it’s been 5 days now. Tomorrow will be 6, awesome! I have had so many opportunities but stayed strong. I’m really proud of myself. And that was quite the challenge there Kent!

    For my own dignity, health, and friends-this is why I shall no longer smoke.


Leave a Reply

Categories

