Posted by: Hope | March 9, 2009

What Do I Minor In?

Okay, this is going to come off as extremely lame and I apologize. But I am desperately trying to figure out what to minor in, just for fun ya know? I’ve been tossing physics, math, or biology up in the air. But I took this quiz (below) and it actually kind of opened my eyes to how much I love religion. I should minor in theology! Or…something along the lines of religion…What do you guys think? Would it fit me, or would I fail miserably? What the hell can I do with a minor in theology anyways?!

You Scored as Education/CounselingYou should strongly consider majoring in Education, such as early childhood education, middle childhood education, secondary education, or related majors (e.g., Vocational Education, Special Education, P.E./Physical Education).

It is possible that the best major for you is your 2nd, 3rd, or even 5th listed category, so be sure to consider ALL majors in your OTHER high scoring categories (below). You may score high in a category you didnt think you would–it is possible that a great major for you is something you once dismissed as not for you. The right major for you will be something 1) you love and enjoy and 2) are really great at it.

Consider adding a minor or double majoring to make yourself standout and to combine your interests. Psychology is a great minor for education majors.

Education/Counseling
100%
Religion/Theology
100%
HR/BusinessManagement
81%
Visual&PerformingArts
75%
Psychology/Sociology
56%
Accounting/Finance/Marketing
50%
Mathematics/Statistics
44%
Physics/Engineering/Computer
38%
Biology/Chemistry/Geology
38%
PoliticalScience/Philosophy
31%
Nursing/AthleticTraining/Health
31%
History/Anthropology/LiberalArts
13%
English/Journalism/Comm
6%
French/Spanish/OtherLanguage
0%

Responses

  1. If memory serves, you are planning to major in music ed. A religion or theology minor could be good to give you some classes that are a different pace from the music stuff. It kind of depends on the school you go to as well. At one point in college, I was majoring in youth ministry and doing a minor in communications/broadcasting because I enjoyed doing radio and video editing so much.
    I think it is good to take your minor in something that you find interesting. It will help keep you sane during the times when your classes for your chosen major get to be too much.

  2. Yeah, that is the premise of my thought process. Also, I kind of want to minor in something in case for whatever reason I cant find a job, and I’m not sure theology/religion will do anything for me.

  3. It is good thinking, but don’t forget the number of people who work in all kinds of fields that are unrelated to their studies in college. I worked as a computer tech and all kinds of tech type jobs in the last ten years or so, and I had no college training for any of those jobs. It was mostly practical experience.

  4. Okay, ya nerd. But I dont have any practical experience! 🙂

  5. Well, you could use the time in college to pick up some. If you aren’t required to have an official minor, try taking classes from several fields that you have interest in learning. I don’t know if you ever saw the recent Forbes article about college, and I am not trying to scare you, but it is important to think about this stuff. http://www.forbes.com/forbes/2009/0202/060_2.html
    A college degree isn’t an automatic ticket anymore. Although teaching is one of the professions that still has a pretty high demand level I think.

  6. can’t beat math. because it is hard it pays great.

  7. depending on the university you may be able to minor in humanities which would give you a broad base to draw from in pursuing a career.


Leave a Reply

Categories

