Posted by: Hope | February 17, 2009

Why did I choose the trumpet?

Why did I choose the trumpet?

Now that I know what career I’m going into I started looking up (very briefly) about auditions for schools. Holy crap, I’m nervous. Here are the audition requirements for Grand Valley State University for a trumpet player:

  • Major and minor scales (two octaves).
  • Two solos comparable to Balay Prelude et Ballade, Goedicke Concert Etude or Herbert Clarke The Maid of the Mist, or contrasting movements by Haydn, Hummel, or Arutunian.
  • One technical etude from Arban Complete Method.
  • Sight-reading.

Shoot me now. Why do I have to audition if I’m not going into music performance? I don’t get it. But I do know there scholarship opportunities, but even then…I’m practically too late for those. It says that they’ll be decided that at the end of the march. My audition is probably going to be in April. That’s lame, huh?

The trumpet is one of the most common, popular, and competitive instruments ever. I’m so screwed, so, so screwed.

I’m so not excited. Not excited at all.

nail-biter

Responses

  1. […] Go to the author’s original blog: Why did I choose the trumpet? « Hope Lounge […]

  2. Lots of time to prepare.

    Just have fun with it and you will do a better job.

    Attitude is everything.

    Don’t worry…play happy!

  3. Many reasons.
    1. Easier to carry than a tuba.
    2. No strings to break.
    3. they do not go out of tune [do they?]
    4. diggery do’s are not big in the States.
    5. accordions are out of style
    6. trombones can be dangerous to the guy in front of you
    7. Spit valves are fun!
    8. Flight of the bumble bee sounds so cool!
    9. you look cute with your cheeks puffed out
    10. Taps on an oboe is gay.

  4. break a leg

  5. 10. taps on oboe is gay

    That’s probably one of the funniest things I’ve ever heard.

    My cheeks don’t puff out when I play. I actually look really dumb when I play.

  6. 6. trombones can be dangerous to the guy in front of you
    As someone who occasionally plays trombone, I can attest to the absolute truth in this statement. But the intimidation factor in this statement is more of a pro for trombone playing I think.

    And number 10 is my favorite as well. We used to make fun of all the woodwinds in marching band. We actually called them ‘Shrooms at one point.

    Hope,
    In all seriousness, as a veteran of many a tryout, both successful and a couple not so much, if you just put in the work and do your best; you will do fine. There isn’t any more that you can ask of yourself than that.

  7. Hope,
    In all seriousness, as a veteran of many a tryout, both successful and a couple not so much, if you just put in the work and do your best; you will do fine. There isn’t any more that you can ask of yourself than that.

    Great advice, Jeff. (and it works for everything!)

  8. Jeff, that’s why woodwinds aren’t in drum cores because they dont belong in marching band!

    Thanks for the advice and encouragement. I really appreciate it. I’m going to find the time to sit down and dig into some of this music, but considering I am nowhere near being capable of double tonguing, I think I’m going to have to go with the “Herbert Clarke The Maid of the Mist” and see how it goes.


Leave a Reply

Categories

