Posted by: Hope | February 5, 2009

1 John: The Beginning of My Study

I began my “study” on 1 John yesterday. I really didn’t get very far.

1 John 1 was interesting merely because it correlates so much with John 1. And it left me wondering if it was written on purpose to be in correlation with John, or if it was merely a coincidence. That was really the only question for the first chapter.

1 John 2 is where I stayed at for some time. Allow me to quote some of my notes and questions:

1 John 2:1-6~~

Why does this seem so wishy washy? It’s like you can’t sin, but then again it’s okay if you do. But if you do, you aren’t following his commands which according to 1 John 2:4 we’d then be lying because apparently I can’t know god because then I’m not following his commands.

So which is it?

1john2_17

And then I continued with this:

1 John 2: 10~~ “Whoever loves his brother lives in the light, and there is nothing in him to make him stumble.”

I like this. And here were my side notes: *Put others best interests first and dont do anything that may cause another to compromise their conscience or “to make him stumble” spiritually.

I need more friends like that!

Responses

  1. try this My dear children, I am writing this to you so that you will not sin. But if you do sin, there is someone to plead for you before the Father. He is Jesus Christ, the one who pleases God completely.* It is the NLT. Look it is not Ok to sin, sin sucks. Sin is doing what you know God would not want you to do. But if you do screw up, or even rebel, if you repent Jesus will be your defense attorney and you will get off. Should you sin? No! will you, well, yeah, but how about fighting the good fight and at least try to do good. he will help with that too.
    2:10 Just love, you will not sin. Love has it covered.

  2. I think that clears it up a bit. That’s what I thought, but for some reason those first few verses really confused me.

    Come back for my new notes soon.

  3. i translated this entire book for my greek final in seminary. it was difficult but it certainly bore fruit. i may have to grab my notes and follow along with you!


Leave a Reply

Categories

