Posted by: Hope | January 31, 2009

Invictus by W. Ernest Henley

Since I showed you one of my favorite band songs, I figured I would also share with you my newly found poetry work.

Invictus by William Ernest Henley

Out of the night that covers me,
Black as the pit from pole to pole,
I thank whatever gods may be
For my unconquerable soul

In the fell clutch of circumstance
I have not winced nor cried aloud.
Under the bludgeonings of chance,
My head is bloody, but unbowed.

Beyond this place of wrath and tears
Looms but the Horror of the shade,
And yet the menace of the years
Finds and shall find me unafraid

It matters not how strait the gate,
How charged with punishments the scroll,
I am the master of my fate,
I am the captain of my soul

I have rather enjoyed this poem. I came across it merely due to school work because we are having a poetry “recitation” contest.

To better understand what’s going on check out www.poetryoutloud.org

This is the poem I have chosen to recite. For some reason, it has really touched base with how I feel on a lot of things right now. I must admit, I am not excited for the recitation of it.

Not my style

Responses

  1. I memorized this as a junior in High School, and i actually believed it! Thanks for the memories, i could not remember who wrote it!

  2. Why do you no longer believe it?

  3. Well i guess i could believe it, but i gave the captaincy of my soul over to a much better Skipper, and my fate is no longer my own, a donated that to a better cause also. and i found that once i got to know “what ever gods there be “by His first name that my soul is no longer unconquerable.
    I actually bowed my head a few decades ago, and even thru cancer and car wrecks [too many] I have no horror of the shade, I kinda look forward to the light! the gate is not only straight, but narrow, but I have full assurance that the punishments on my scroll have been paid for by another.
    Seriously, I used to write this on all my book covers, and has it posted in my locker and my bedroom wall. It made me feel real tough to say it out loud. It is a fine poem.

  4. ah man you did it again. I am going to post a rewrite of this poem on my blog, but not front page, hey man i gotta preach tomorrow!

  5. vincens ut vinceret , by Will Hapeman, [Sorry Mr. W.E. Henley]

    Out of the night that covered me
    Black as the pit from pole to pole
    I thank my god for loving me
    And purchasing my soul
    In a long predicted circumstance
    He bled but never cried out loud
    Paying my price with Cross and Lance
    His head was bloody, thorn-crowned, bowed.
    From this place of wrath and tears
    He killed the Horror of the shade
    So the menace of the years
    Finds and shall find me unafraid
    Narrow it is, and strait the gate
    But no punishments are on my scroll
    Jesus is my Master of fate
    Christ is Captain of my soul

  6. It just doesn’t look right, can you edit this? stop over at my place and see how it should look. please. thank you.

  7. I did the best I can. And it’s all I’m willing to put forth the effort to do. Hope that’s good enough for ya

    Btw, glad I can inspire you to do things!! You preach? Are you a pastor?

  8. looks great thanks, yep, I fill the pulpit at Dayspring Bible Chapel, every Sunday for 4 years now. got to go , it’s Sunday!

  9. Sounds fun. Though…I have no idea where that church is at!

  10. i used to write poetry like this ages ago. then i wrote poetry only a goth could love for a while and now i write stuff nobody bothers with.

    its profoundly horrible that im so driven to write.

  11. You write poetry? Show me some of your shit.


Leave a Reply

Categories

