Posted by: Hope | January 24, 2009

Ted Haggard Allegations

Ted Haggard Allegations

Ted Haggard. Ever heard of him? He looks like this:

ted-haggard

I feel bad for him. He sure does have himself in a bit of a pickle.

1) You can’t choose your sexuality. If someone is gay, they’re gay. That’s the end of it.
—–Well, there are the “bi’s” out there that are just whores that really dont give a fuck, and maybe possibly, just want attention and confused. BUT! There really are gay people in this world. And I don’t have ANY problem with that AT ALL!

2) Poor guy used to be an “evangelical” pastor, which basically means he’s NOT supposed to be gay, and if/when he was caught he was screwed from the get-go because Christians, especially evangelicals are assholes 90% of the time.

3) It REALLY doesn’t surprise me that he got caught again. He’s gay. He can’t help it. Leave the poor guy alone!

What are YOUR thoughts?

Responses

  1. Still don’t know much about him on this end, though I do have a tendency to dislike any high strung televangelist. I also really don’t want to go by what the media says, because they tend to bash christians anyway.
    Leave the guy alone, he’s got things to work out, but if he is hurting himself or others, then let the media have at it….

  2. now hes capitalizing by whoring himself to hbo. nifty..

  3. Wulfgar,

    That’s where things get conflicting. When he was a pastor (man, is he still? I cant imagine he still holds that job, I haven’t really looked into that) he spoke VERY harshly against gays. And now knowing that he himself is gay, it leaves me quite conflicted.

    The man can go ahead and do whatever he wants. But when he influences thousands of people and get them to think those hateful, terrible thoughts about gays…I am not 100% I can have his back all the way.

  4. I have to say, I have no sympathy whatsoever for a man that preaches intolerance towards gays turning out to also be gay. The intolerance isn’t going to stop without people standing up for homosexuals, so I have neither respect nor sympathy for a guy who basically screws himself because of his own bigoted beliefs.

  5. People struggle. The bible clearly says homosexuality is a sin just like premarital sex, drunkenness, murder, lying, lust, etc. We were created to be intimate with and only with our spouse who is intended to be of the opposite sex. This man probably spoke so horribly against homosexuals because he himself felt convicted. But homosexuality is a temptation and sin like many other things. The temptation itself isn’t wrong, its falling into it. So this man, just like many others, made a mistake. I dont know much about him but based on what i know about those in ministry positions, i can say that he probably was just attacked. Many people have homosexual desires, but to be obedient to Christ, we need to resist them just like we do with hatred, murder, lying, drinking,stealing, etc.

    1 Corinthians 6:9-10 ” Do you not know that the wicked will not inherit the kingdom of God? Do not be deceived: Neither the sexually immoral nor idolaters nor adulterers nor male prostitutes nor homosexual offenders nor thieves nor the greedy nor drunkards nor slanderers nor swindlers will inherit the kingdom of God. “

  6. It may well be that orientation is not a choice. It is a choice however whether to unzip your fly or not. I was born with a great desire for women. Notice the plural, women. God gave me a wonderful woman, notice the singular, woman. What do you think I have a walk in the park with this flesh box I live in? I need a savior to forgive me and a Holy Spirit to guide me, and If I chose to sin anyway that is on my shoulders.
    Alicia is right, if we struggle He will give us Victory. If we don’t struggle, we loose.

  7. dude, I like you. You’re amazing. Come back and visit again. I dont think I disagree at all.


Leave a Reply

Categories

