Posted by: Hope | January 15, 2009

Black Holes Fascinate Me

I think my new favorite “fascination” is black holes. Do you know anything about them? I dont! I know the basics, and the basics scare the crap out of me.

bh

I mean think about it. Black hols are basically a region of “space” that has such a strong gravitational pull on it (for some odd reason) that absolutely nothing can escape it once it “falls” into it. When you enter into this thing called the “event horizon” on it…you’re SCREWED! Basically, time stretches, and it like deforms/stretches out your body because the gravity is sooo different than what it is here on earth. If you fall into this thing, you will die. Your body will completely be ripped into pieces. I think I head a term called something like “spaghetification” (yeah, I probably spelled that wrong)..but man, does that give you some imagery! You’re body (or even any object that goes into it) will turn into strings of spaghetti! Isn’t that a bit umm, creepy to you? Think about it, black holes are so powerful that even light cannot escape. Light is the fastest thing known earth.

If you want to learn more, just google it. There’s plenty of stuff about it. If you’re into physics, astronomy, or just like learning random (AWESOME) stuff, check out black holes if you haven’t already. I don’t think you’ll regret it.

bh-diagram

Responses

  1. A good book to read is “A Brief History of Time” by Stephen Hawking. A little intense, but written for non-physics people and it’s got a lot of this kind of stuff.

  2. Yeah, I already added it to my list yesterday 🙂

  3. I have it if you want to borrow it. :]

    -Dennis

  4. There is an illustrated version of ‘A Brief History of Time’ which may help you to get to grips with some of the explanations.

  5. so what happens when black holes collide?

  6. Good question dude. But they’re too far apart. There is thought to be one in the center of every galaxy, but all of the “known” black holes are too far apart from each other to collide.

    Which makes me wonder. Black are holes are basically a collapsed giant star that has died. And if they think that these are in the center of every galaxy…uh wow. That makes me curious on how/why all the planets and stars act the way they do and how they came to be in the position their in. I’m having a hard time explaining my thoughts…

  7. graceshaker,

    Well, we actually expect that black hole collisions will be detectable in future gravity wave experiments. Here’s a simulation:

    Those lines that you see are the gravitational waves that are emanating from the black holes. As you can see, right at the moment of collision there’s a huge amount of the waves released.

    So usually when two galaxies collide, some time later the black holes at their hearts collide. These collisions aren’t all that common, but we hope to be able to detect them within a few years.

  8. er…

    http://images.google.com/imgres?imgurl=http:/http://www.dailygalaxy.com/my_weblog/2008/03/18-billion-suns.html

  9. http://www.dailygalaxy.com/my_weblog/2008/03/18-billion-suns.html

  10. Aww grace, that was kinda a ball-burster. I guess I had more expectations than it merely “throwing” it off its course. But thats awesome. Thanks.


Leave a Reply

Categories

