Posted by: Hope | January 11, 2009

Realization Into Peoples Lives

I attended a different church than I normally do this morning. I was invited by someone I used to attend church with. I didn’t have to work until 4  (gosh I have to go to work in a hour…) so I figured…what the hay?

Well they had a guest speak by the name of Reggie Dabbs.

reggie

I’d seen him speak once before when I used to be “hardcore” Christian. But my experience in seeing him this time was so much different as a “skeptic” Christian. I don’t know exactly what I thought of him, besides the fact that I found him to be very funny. He seems to actually “care” about the people he’s talking to. He’s obviously very observant and thoughtful. That very fact made me have A LOT of respect for this guy. Because.. when you listen to someone  speak you can tell if they’re sincere or if they’re just doing it because its what they’re paid to do. I don’t think this guy was in it for the money…which really gave me a deeper perspective into Christians.

But what I realized wasn’t really anything to do with religion when I was at this church. During worship, I looked around and saw all different types of personalities and people. It really amazed me. You see, I work at a movie theater and come across ALL different types of people. And sometimes I forget that the people I am serving live an actual life, they have personalities, and concerns. It was really an eye opener to my perspective of how I view people on pretty much a day-to-day basis.

I guess what I’m getting at is that being in a place where you see some people dancing, some shouting, others silently standing there, and some just kinda “there”…you realize that there is so much more to a person than the soda they order, or the size of popcorn they want when they come to visit you at the theater. It almost gives me a passion and a care for everyone that I come across daily. My eyes have truly been opened to the world and the people in it.

group

Responses

  1. fantastic. this is a rarity in my experience. i think its a symptom of knowing christ and seeing people as he does.


Leave a Reply

Categories

