Posted by: Hope | November 28, 2008

Where is God?!

My faith is so weak right now. I feel so lost and jumbled. I hate that when I cry out to god with everything I have and I don’t feel any sense of comfort in return. I can’t understand why it’s like this. I’m so jealous of the people that say they experience god on a regular basis. I’m so jealous of the people that say they feel peace when they cry out to god.

depressed1

I don’t. I hate it. It is so frustrating and it makes me doubt my faith and salvation. Why isn’t God responding to me? I haven’t changed since I accepted hm. I feel like I am the same person, just with a different goal. I feel like a failure because of it.

I know god isn’t an emotion or a feeling…maybe I expect too much. I just wish he’d show himself to me. Make me believe. Stop my doubt and give me a purpose to follow him.

None of my prayers have showed any sign of being answered. I JUST got saved and I already feel like I’m in a never ending tunnel that cannot reach the light.

tunnel

Responses

  1. Hang in there God hears your every word & thought!You’re in the middle of a test and God will bring you through.I’ve been there many times but I’ve found that Jesus is a comforter like no other.And get in the word 1st Peter will do wonders for you at this place in your life,some day when you look back (and that day will come) you’ll see why All this had to be.God will not allow anything that we cannot handle,even though it feels like to much.Don’t give up God has not nor will He ever leave You!!

  2. Can I please just say that I have been a Christian for a long time now, and I still go through times when God feels distant, and not at all interested in me. But I have been following Jesus long enough now to know that during those times God is still very much there. He is simply working something in us that could not be achieved if we were always “flying” with Him, and sharing in His glory.

    I don’t know why you are experiencing this, but in my own personal experience those have been the times when I have sought the Lord with all my heart and all my soul; when I have done my most thorough soul-searching to discover whether it was something in me that was obstructing that two way communication; whether perhaps I was not spending enough time in prayer or reflecting upon His word.

    With regards to other people, please YOU MUST not compare yourself with others’. Many who claim to have a close relationship with the Lord, in reality, don’t. God cares about you and His relationship with you as much as with everybody else. He often speaks in the Bible of men who care more about what other men think or say than what He says, so just concentrate on your own journey. Forget about what everybody else is doing. I know Satan can use those comparisons to make you feel like you are nothing or are achieving nothing for the Lord. DO NOT BELIEVE HIS LIES!

    Can I live you with a link to a whole page with Scripture on “Patience”. If there is so much written in the bible about patience, it is for a reason.

    http://www.heavensinspirations.com/word-patience.html

    Please be patient and keep trusting in the Lord. He hears the cries of his afflicted and in His perfect timing he will answer your prayers, although perhaps not with the outcome that you are expecting. His outcome will always be better for you in the long run. You will see!

    God bless you!

    ransom33. http://www.ransom33.wordpress.com

  3. Hi;

    Many people come to God with a mistaken goal. They’ve been told that if they ‘get saved’ they will have peace, joy, happiness, fulfilment and prosperity. That is not the -real gospel-.

    That isn’t true. In fact Jesus promised trials, trouble and persecution!

    The goal of ‘getting saved’ is exactly that: to be saved from Hell! People havent been exposed to their sin and therefore never understood the need of a Savior. The Real Gospel says that you and me and all humanity stand in condemnation before a Holy God that will judge the Universe according to His standard. If you see yourself infront of His Law (10 Commandments) you will see and understand that you fall short… and therefore NEED, desperately need a Savior!

    If you have ever lied, stolen or looked with lust; then you are like the rest of us… a criminal in God’s eyes that need to be justified. You need someone to pay your fine. This is the Real Gospel: that just when God is about to pronounce your merited sentence, Jesus steps in and pays your fine in his life’s blood!!! Wow! Now it all makes sense!

    If you put a parachute as a life enhacer, it wont work. But if you have it knowing that one day soon you will have to jump from the place of life unto eternity, then you will be glad to put it on and even if the flight gets bumpy, your ‘jump’ is secure!!

    May I encourage you to analize yourself infront of the mirror of the 10 Commandments so you understand the real purpose of why Jesus came to the world. Then you need to (the Bible says): 1- REPENT which is to turn from your sins. and 2- TRUST in Jesus for your eternal salvation.

    If you do these 2 things, God will grant you forgiveness of sin and everlasting life!! And even if the flight here gets bumpy, you will have PEACE of being adopted into the family of God and know that your fine has been paid by Jesus’ own blood.

    Then read your Bible… obey what you read.

    Love in Christ,

    Dikayo.com

  4. Bonnie lass, there’s a really obvious answer to your questions…

    One which makes sense of everything.

    You know what it is.

  5. Try waiting! It’s not just a snap of his fingers that will make everytihng better, and you know that. Consistently praying will build your faith in him if you will trust that he has the answer for you. Prayers are answered in his time, not ours. You may not get the answer you expect, but you WILL be answered. You have to believe that whatever he tells you is right, and that it is a part of his plan.

  6. Hang in there Hope. I agree with the posters above – salvation is not a “hocus pocus” kind of faith. We are not promised that all will go well with us. Read Hebrews 11 about what real faith looks like.

  7. Good morning. The following link discusses the dark seasons that all of us go through and elaborates on it better than I ever could. http://girlapprehended.wordpress.com/2008/11/27/6-signs-you-are-in-a-dark-and-holy-night/

  8. Dear Trumpethope19,

    Just suppose there is no God – I’m not trying to convince you of that but just suppose – Even if there’s no God you still have friends, family, lovers, music, food, travel, love, joy, dreams, hopes and experiences. We’re all incredibly, amazingly lucky to have even been born in the first place so even if there is no God we’re all still winners just to have existed.

    Now, if there is a God…Well, I like Marcus Auerilus` words:

    “”Live a good life. If there are gods and they are just, then they will not care how devout you have been, but will welcome you based on the virtues you have lived by. If there are gods, but unjust, then you should not want to worship them. If there are no gods, then you will be gone, but will have lived a noble life that will live on in the memories of your loved ones.”

    Take Care and I hope you can find happiness with whatever World view you settle on.

    Lucy 🙂

  9. I’ve been down the Atheist road before, so I know what you’re talking about Lucy. I’m just trying to stay away from that road again.

    Thanks for your thoughts 🙂

    timbob, thanks I’ll definitely read it.

  10. Hope,

    Just thought I’d throw this at you as something to think about and meditate on.

    In your post you said:

    Why isn’t God responding to me? I haven’t changed since I accepted hm. I feel like I am the same person, just with a different goal. I feel like a failure because of it.

    Perhaps there is something in your life that God desires for you to address by way of making a change? This “something” might be a hindrance in your relationship with Christ. Maybe an attitude or some way of living that isn’t in accordance with how God wants you to live?

    My experiences have shown that I had attitudes,behaviors, and ways that I conducted myself (revealed by reading God’s Word) that I needed to either distance myself from or otherwise change. Change is part of God’s process of strengthening the relationship and refining our walk with Christ.

    Have faith that the Lord desires and will reveal areas of your life that He wants to correct and change as He transforms you into a new creation (2nd Corinthians 5:16-18).

    Grace and peace be with you.


Leave a Reply

Categories

