Posted by: Hope | November 30, 2007

What Now?

Hey there folks!

Well, I’m sad to say it, but officially back on the fence again in my religious walk. (I’m pathetic, I know) Before I get to the main point of this post, I must admit that the thing that scares me the most about my doubts anymore is that I hardly care, and can hardly justify them anymore. Sure, I have my basic problems and confusions of Christianity, but I mean…its nothing so dramatic that should cause me to completely discount the fact that Christianity could be true. Even so, with my most recent “experience” it has opened my mind up a bit, and I have became a little more open minded to the concept that hey, maybe He really is there. But my doubts seem to be more of a gut feeling than anything right now, and that bothers me. I’ve always wanted to base my beliefs off of logic and reason…and I am clearly not doing that right now. I don’t know about you, but I don’t have much of any respect for people that say something and then don’t back it up with at least any form of reason. I mean, it’s not as if I go around saying “THERE IS NO GOD!!!”, but it still is disturbing that I can go around saying “I don’t know if there is a god or not, but I’m not exactly sure why I believe that.” If someone told me that I would be appalled of their stupidity and ignorance. Maybe thats just me, what do you think?

Anyways, as for the main purpose of me writing to you all, I am making a list of books I want to get in the near future to read. Or…possible books I’m looking at buying. So, if you have any suggestions (clearly, I want religious based books, not humor, romantic, or horror 😉 ).

Here is a list of books I already have on my consideration list, please leave a comment and suggest a book to me. (I’m looking more for books on the subject of Christianity, or Atheism/Agnosticism reasons why people believe what they believe…basic apologetics is what I’m into). So heres the list:

  • “The Sacred Depths of Nature” by Usula Goodenough
  • “The Varieties of Scientific Experience” by Carl Sagan
  • “Darwin on Trial”
  • “Demon Haunted World” Sagan
  • “Reason in the Balance both” by Philip Johnson
  • “Darwins Black Box” by Michae Behe
  • “A Guide to the Good Life: The Ancient Art of Stoic Joy” by William B. Irvine
  • “Total Truth” by Nancy Pearcy
  • “What We Can’t Know”
  • “Breaking the Spell: Religion as a Natural Phenomenon” by Daniel Dennett
  • “The Revenge of conscience” both by J.Budziszewaki
  • “The God Who is There” by Francis Schaeffer
  • “How the World’s Most Notorious Atheist Changed His Mind” by Antony Flew
  • “The Case for Faith” (and “Case for Christ”) by Lee Strobel
  • The Elegant Universe by Brian Greene
  • “Jesus and the eye witnesses” by Richard Bauckam

That’s all I have down so far. Any other suggestions? They would be greatly appreciated. Thanks for stopping by!

StumbleUpon My StumbleUpon Page Don’t forget to Stumble! me 🙂

Add to Technorati Favorites

Responses

  1. I’m delighted at the first two books on your list. 😀

    It’s not a book, but I strongly recommend you also rent and view (or buy) BBC’s Planet Earth series. It’s not strictly religious, but I’m quite sure you can’t get through 15 minutes of it without exclaiming “oh my God!” or something similar. I recommend it for the same reason I suggested Goodenough.

  2. I found “The Revenge Of Conscience” to be much more worthwhile than “What We Can’t Not Know”. Also, I’d very definitely add “Miracles” by C.S. Lewis, and “The Everlasting Man” by Chesterton. I found “How Now Shall We Live” by Colson and Pearcey to be much better than “Total Truth” by Pearcey. I’d also add the new book “What’s So Great About Christianity” by D’Souza. Nor would I hesitate to add “The Blind Watchmaker” by Dawkins, just so you can see his arguments directly. They don’t stand up very well, which is one reason why I have no trouble recommending him, while his own acolytes do everything possible to dissuade others from reading Behe, Johnson, et al…

    Happy reading!

  3. The Case for Christ is better than The Case for Faith, imho.

    God’s Smuggler by Brother Andrew

    How To Be Your Own Selfish Pig: And Other Ways You’ve Been Brainwashed by Susan Schaeffer Macaulay (Francis Schaeffer’s daughter)

    Remember what I said in a previous post about not learning about someone from people who hate him. If you want to know about the God of the Bible, read the Bible. I am convinced that the Bible answers most of the questions it generates.


Leave a Reply

Categories

