Posted by: Hope | September 5, 2007

Richard Dawkins- God Delusion

I am not much of a reader. The book has to be extremely active and dialogue oriented for me to be able to enjoy it. I have a very hard time reading religious, boring ass books. Don’t get me wrong, I love religion and I love to talk and learn about it and different aspects of it. But when it comes to reading books…I can’t bring myself to do it. I’ve read a few Christian books. I have about four (which isn’t many…but more than any other books I have) and I’ve actually only “finished” two of them. That book is called In the Grip of Grace by Max Lucado. Actually I happened to have found that book to be really good, I would suggest it to any Christians or seeking Christians curious about the subject of grace and submission to Christ. The other book that I brought myself to finish was The Case for Faith by Lee Strobel. Now this book was a bit more of what I am looking for right now. It is a book that attempts to answer the tough questions. And honestly, he doesn’t do that bad of a job on a few of them. There is one other book that I came really close to finishing and that book was about the end times. I used to really like to study that stuff. The book was called Rapture..Sure but when? By who? Err I honestly can’t remember. You’ll have to look that up for yourself.

Anyways, I have been considering reading Richard Dawkins book The God Delusion for almost a year now. I’ve held it off because I don’t want to go out and buy a book that I’m not going to wind up reading. I don’t know much about the book even. It has merely been suggested to me by several people. So my question is, have you read this book? Is it interesting? What are some of the basic arguments? Should I buy it and read it?

That is about it. Thanks.

Oh, and on a completely different note. I’ve had a really hard time sleeping lately. Every night for the last 5 months or so it takes me about 1 to 2 hours to fall asleep. I just lay there with my eyes closed tossing and turning trying with all my might to go to sleep. And I always fail. Anyone know why this might be and what I can do about it? It is driving me nuts.

Responses

  1. Go our and buy it – if only to make Richard happy. He’s about to achieve some sort of record for being a year on the best seller lists – all it needs is a few more people to buy the book.

    Seriously though. It is an excellent book. He is a very clear and exciting writer. The book may not win over many confirmed theists but it certainly helps atheists, non-theists, agnostics, etc., to be happy and proud of their own beliefs.

    it’s also a good introduction to other resources in this area.

  2. I wouldn’t take everything that Dawkins says for fact, but yeah read it if you want.

    Taking into consideration your reading tendencies mentioned, I would suggest reading Radical Reformission by Mark Driscoll.


Leave a Reply

Categories

