Posted by: Hope | August 25, 2007

Satan and Human Condemnation for Sin

So the subject of Satan in general is something that I’ve always hated. His creation alone makes no sense to me. I looking back at some of my old threads on a forum I attend and ran across one about Satan, and how God did it all. I still stand firm to that belief. Though, I suppose my view of Satan could be a bit off…but thats a story for another day. I suppose I should just ask of you to allow me to quote myself?

“I believe god created us knowing we were going to fall to sin, he set us up for it, he knew it was going to happen, and then blame us for these mandatory things he laid before us, that he knew we weren’t going to hold up to. He created temptation, he created satan, he created us, he created the human mind, he created the human intent, and he created human desires. He designed it all. But yet, we’re blamed for this problem of sin?
It doesn’t make sense to me. ”

Am I wrong? Did God not know we were going to fall to sin? Did he not create Satan? Did he not create us, our mind, our human intent, and human desires? Did he not do these things? If he didn’t then how is he God? Isn’t God supposed to be the creator of all things?

I realize he may not have created evil, but where evil comes from is what really gets me. And the idea of “free will” confuses me even more. (Allow me to quote my friend Jason really quick, then we’ll get back on topic)…

“Human free will is completely inconsistent with an omnipotent, omniscient creator deity. My reasoning is thus. An omniscient deity is capable of understanding the full consequencesof all of his choices upon creation, including the results of various drives and desires held by humans. An omnipotent deity is capable of creating the world in any way he sees fit. Thus, due to this omnipotence and omniscience, every single choice we will ever make was already made by God when he created the universe, according to these facets of Christian doctrine held by many Christians.

 

Thus, according to these facets of Christian doctrine, and the doctrine of original sin, when Eve made that choice, it was the desires that God placed within her that caused her to make it in the way that she did. If you want to blame the snake for corrupting God’s design, then you have to realize that God made the talking snake too (and no, the snake wasn’t Satan, that connection was not made until many centuries afterwards…I believe in the original tradition the snake was Lilith). “

But back on topic…I suppose I should throw out there that I don’t believe Satan to be Lucifer. I do believe Satan to be something that was in heaven at one point and time. Whether or not he/it was an angel? Well, honestly…I don’t think so. I came up with the idea that maybe he is some type of like mental thing, like a conscience. But I don’t really know. I don’t understand why God would have created him, knowing that he would fall. Because well, God is all knowing…right?

Anyways, I kinda forgot what else I was going to say. I got side tracked. I guess I’ll just end it here asking your thoughts on the subject?

Responses

  1. A mistake that many people make when getting into different aspects of Christianity is introducing our own “interpretation” of things. Not saying that all human interpretation is all wrong, all the time; If discussing Biblical things, then the final say on things must be the Bible (when subscribing to Christianity then you must agree with the infalibily of Scripture).

    Reason is a whore, the greatest enemy that faith has. — Luther

    Everything is done for the glory of God. Romans 9 says,
    “20But who are you, O man, to answer back to God? Will what is molded say to its molder, “Why have you made me like this?” 21 Has the potter no right over the clay, to make out of the same lump one vessel for honorable use and another for dishonorable use? 22What if God, desiring to show his wrath and to make known his power, has endured with much patience vessels of wrath prepared for destruction, 23in order to make known the riches of his glory for vessels of mercy, which he(AH) has prepared beforehand for glory— 24even us whom he has called, not from the Jews only but also from the Gentiles?”

  2. Thats another problem in of itself. Christianity leaves no room for questioning. You’re not allowed to question. And if you do, it just shows a lack of faith, and thus hell. And what about that thing that Christians say about prayer…God says “Yes, no, or wait” Ha! Talk about leaving absolutely no room for error. Of course they’re going to say that. If God doesn’t answer it was just clearly “not Gods will” and if he does (by chance) “praise God!” and if he does, but years later…well…God was just saying “wait”. Yeah, thats a genius idea. But none the less expected.

  3. There is room for questions I would say, however not room for uneducated guesses. I feel we are able to question all we like, ask whatever it is that pleases you? However our questions are so often already answered, we may not receive a direct answer in response. If God is infinite, and we are but finite, then our understanding of Him isn’t always complete.

  4. Oh yeah, I know that. Most of them I don’t have a problem with. But like I said, the tomb and stuff like that…thats a big deal. If there’s an error in that..well..I suppose that just makes me question how reliable the story really is..and then makes me question Jesus’ divinity.


Leave a Reply

Categories

