Posted by: Hope | August 22, 2007

Youth Being Taken Seriously

Want to know the worst thing about being young? Yes, I am young…its fairly easy to guess that. The worst thing is that no one takes you seriously. Its true, nobody does. I’ve been told time and time again that I’m just young, it’ll pass, it’s just a phase, etc. And you know what? It actually sort of ticks me off. Is it just the culture? Due to our culture once people are aware of my age they just instantly quit taking me (or anyone of my age) seriously? Is that it? I don’t know what it is. I honestly don’t get it. I understand that I’m young, maybe a bit naive, but when someone tells you something, I don’t care how old they are…can’t you have the courtesy to listen? Instead of blowing them off and telling them basically to raise their IQ up another 20 points and then we’ll talk?

Sorry, this is one of the first times I have felt the need to rant in my blog about something silly.  Forgive me. This may or may not happen again in the future. 🙂

Responses

  1. Yeah, I totally know what you mean.

    I mean, like, last night I gave this advice to this girl who was asking for an advice, and she, like, totally deleted comment! I mean, I know I sound a lot younger than I really am and it never fails to destroy my credibility when I’m on the Internet, but, like, seriously! My advice was totally valid and could possibly be useful! But this girl totally wouldn’t listen simply because I pointed out her ignorance. I mean, sheesh. She could have been more adult about it.


Leave a Reply

Categories

