Posted by: Hope | August 21, 2007

Motivation To Stay in Christ?

As a former Christian I always struggled keeping my motivation up to stay a Christian. And obviously, it didn’t work out so hot in the end. Even recently in my transitions back and forth to and from Christianity my main struggle was not having motivation. I felt no conviction, and I just didn’t really care to keep going. So my question is, what keeps you going? What motivates you? Don’t say the love of Christ, because thats cheesy. People tell me “oh, once you experience this salvation there is just no turning back” ok, I experienced salvation, I experienced Christ (or at least I thought I had….I very well could have been mistaken..which is obviously what I believe now…that I was mistaken)…and I’m not a Christian anymore. And I’ve tried to experience Christ now that I’m going through this “doubt” stage. It doesn’t happen, I pray, and get on my knees and everything. I can think of…three…specific times that I was either just on my knees balling begging God to reveal himself to me, or laying down, or something just crying and begging God. He never did, and still hasn’t. That makes me think– well, what the heck am I doing wrong? Which I know that Christians will tell you that there is no specific way to talk to God, its just like talking to a friend. But then, why won’t he respond to me? Which of course leads me to think, well then.he just doesn’t exist!

Anyways, what keeps you going, motivated and stuff to keep up with being a Christian?

Responses

  1. Wow, that’s a bit of a tough question and I don’t think I can even attempt to answer it. I will say however, do not doubt your salvation – it is a one time event.
    By asking God to reveal himself to you, I’m not sure what you’re asking for?
    I stay motivated by reading the Word, books, and studying theology. For me, gaining an in depth understanding of biblical principles interests me. Thomas Watson said it is the main responsibility of all Christains to be settled and grounded. How else can one do this without knowing what they believe and knowing what the Bible says?
    I can only encourage you to become settled in doctrine and grounded in the Word. There are millions of resources all over the internet to find information. Try Desiring God for starters.
    Romans 8:29-30

    For those whom he foreknew he also predestined to be conformed to the image of his Son, in order that he might be the firstborn among many brothers. And those whom he predestined he also called, and those whom he called he also justified, and those whom he justified he also glorified.

  2. Which of course leads me to think, well…duhh..he just doesn’t
    exist! Anyways, what keeps you going, motivated and stuff to keep up with
    being a Christian?

    As soon as I read this, I immediately predicted two things:
    1. You’re a teenager.
    2. You have no real understanding of God.

    Since I was right about your approximate age (16), here’s what I’m
    going to suggest: learn more about God and Christianity before you reject
    either of them. Read the Bible. Read books about the Bible. Read history
    books. Read meditation books. Read everything you can on the subject
    and decide for yourself what you really believe in.

    For the record, I’m not religious at all. Doesn’t mean I don’t believe
    in God, though.

    (originally left by some other dude)


Leave a Reply

Categories

